photo: Tom Pallant / press

YUNGBLUD – god save me, but don’t drown me out

Earlier this month saw the release of YUNGBLUD’s much-anticipated collaboration with UK music industry titans Bring Me the Horizon. Since the September 2nd debut of “Obey,” fans of both YUNGBLUD and Bring Me the Horizon have had a lot of new content to celebrate and share amongst themselves. On September 18th however, YUNGBLUD created even more cause for celebration. As he released another single titled, “god save me, but don’t drown me out” to an eager and excited fanbase. “god save me, but don’t drown me out” is the third single off of YUNGBLUD’s sophomore album, Weird! which is set to be released on November 13th via Locomotion/Interscope Records.

“god save me, but don’t drown me out” is this feel-good anthemic single. The song opens to a chorus of galloping guitars and YUNGBLUD’s melodic voice recounting a twisted, modern-day version of a bedtime prayer. It’s this twisted rendition of a bedtime prayer, which not only greets listeners but leads them straight into the chorus. Where the real substance of “god save me, but don’t drown me out” can be found. As YUNGBLUD recounts how “I won’t let my insecurities define who I am, I am / Not gonna waste my life ’cause I’ve been fucked up / ‘Cause it doesn’t matter.”

At 23-years old, YUNGBLUD and his latest single exemplify this vibrancy and passion for life – no holds barred. When asked about “god save me, but don’t drown me out”, YUNGBLUD spoke about how this passion for existence manifested into a coming-of-age story. One focused on “self-acceptance and liberation, in terms of sex and gender and drugs and heartbreak and all the other twists and turns we go through in life.

The twists and turns we all go through in life are evidenced in the song; as lyrics like “‘Cause therе’s so much pressure on my fuckin’ brain” capture the tribulations of inner-turmoil. While the lyrics found in the outro, exemplify a positive and self-assured sign-off, as YUNGBLUD tells his fanbase, “I think we might be alright, you know”. All in all, “god save me, but don’t drown me out” captures the uncertainty of life in a beautiful way. As “god save me, but don’t drown me out” is vulnerable, honest, and utterly authentic to life in the 21st century. Truthfully, the song seems even more relevant now, considering all of the trials and tribulations that 2020 has brought.

While YUNGBLUD charts a course from inner turmoil to self-acceptance, “god save me, but don’t drown me out” attempts to harken back to other landmark ballads of his. Namely “Polygraph Eyes” off his 2018 release, 21st Century Liability. “Polygraph Eyes” is a critically lauded and emotionally biting song; depicting the horrific social and emotional pain, sexual assault brings upon its victims. Although less emotionally biting than its former, “god save me, but don’t drown me out” still encapsulates the feeling of being young in a warped and weird society. At the end of the day, “god save me, but don’t drown me out” comprises a powerful song. One that showcases YUNGBLUD’s masterful command over creating music with a message; as YUNGBLUD consistently delivers track after track imbued with a sense of meaning.

As YUNGBLUD gears up to release his sophomore album, we over here at EUPHORIA. are excited to see what comes from the Yorkshire native. At present, fans of YUNGBLUD can pre-order Weird! online from Locomotion/Interscope Records. For those who have already pre-ordered the album then sit back, relax, and enjoy this sneak peek of the tracklisting for Weird!

Track Listing for Weird! 

  1. teresa
  2. cotton candy
  3. strawberry lipstick
  4. mars
  5. superdeadfriends
  6. love song
  7. god save me, but don’t drown me out
  8. ice cream man
  9. weird!
  10. charity
  11. it’s quiet in beverly hills
  12. the freak show