raleigh ritchie

Raleigh Ritchie – You’re a Man Now, Boy

“I’m not growing up, I’m aging. My mind’s incarcerated. Just a boy.”

The last time we heard from multi-talented Jacob Anderson (aka Raleigh Ritchie), he had just come out with an accompanying video for his fan-favorite track, Bloodsport. Now as 2015 comes to a close, Raleigh Ritchie has a new track that looks back on his younger years of boyhood called You’re a Man Now, Boy. Featured on his upcoming debut album, check out a sneak peek into it with this wise song.

The lyrics in Raleigh Ritchie’s music are what always stand out. Although he’s only 25, he’s got a head full of wisdom, and his songs convey those thoughts. The song starts off by telling new listeners and longtime fans a little story about himself. From what we can hear, the song sounds like a coming-of-age story; however, as we continue listening and reach the end, we are left with a realization from the artist that is more profound than the flashbacks themselves. The little tidbits of his childhood memories are endearing to grasp, yet similarities also lie in the differences of his childhood and adult life. The track shows vulnerability as Raleigh Ritchie coos on about the boyhood innocence still being a part of him, such as the love for Jurassic Park, the fear of ghosts, or the guilt he still holds from killing snails. The song has an obvious R&B feel, and it oozes an emotive nostalgia. The chorus sounds as if he’s yearning to tell anyone listening that he’s still the same little boy, even though he’s a grown 25 year old man. When I listened to the song, I felt an instant connection to it because I also agree with his message. As a 23 year old woman, I still feel like a child–as if I haven’t got a clue of what I’m doing in the world. I feel like the song can really relate to many of us 20-something year olds because we are all in the same boat. We’re technically adults, yet we still feel young, innocent, lost, and helpless in this gigantic world. The song is worth the repeated listens, and it’s one that can start those deep 2 AM conversations with strangers or best friends.

If you’re feeling Raleigh Ritchie’s wise R&B vibes, you can check him out on Raleighritchie.com for downloads of his singles and albums. His debut album is expected to drop February 26, 2016, and he’s already released the track listing. Take a look below!

1. Werld Is Mine
2. Stronger Than Ever
3. Bloodsport ‘15
4. I Can Change
5. Keep It Simple feat. Stormzy
6. The Greatest
7. Never Better
8. Cowards
9. A Moor
10. Young & Stupid
11. You’re A Man Now, Boy
12. The Last Romance

1. Never Say Die
2. Life In A Box
3. The Chased
4. Overdose
5. Birthday Girl
6. Stay Inside