Foals – What Went Down

Foals announced their fourth album, What Went Down, last week. Last night saw the unveiling of the lead single and title track by Annie Mac on BBC Radio 1.  The track revisits the same rough-around-the-edges bite and intensity the Oxford quintet had moved away from in their last record, Holy Fire.

Speaking to NME, frontman Yannis Philippakis, said: “It is one of the most savage and animalistic songs we’ve ever done. When we play it in a room, it just feels predatory, it feels like we’re on a hunt or something.” After a crunching three and a half minutes it drops into a bridge just long enough for you to catch your breath back before cranking the dial back up to finish with the scuzziest of crescendos. If that wasn’t enough, the band put out an equally vicious video to go with it.

On the topic of the record as a whole, Philippakis added: “[Producer James] Ford really pushed us and we couldn’t be happier. It’s going to be our best album, that’s how we feel at the moment, which is unusual for us to feel that at ease. I think this is the record where a lot of the different sides of the band have come into focus.”


  1. What Went Down
  2. Mountain At My Gates
  3. Birch Tree
  4. Give It All
  5. Albatross
  6. Snake Oil
  7. Night Swimmers
  8. London Thunder
  9. Lonely Hunter
  10. A Knife In The Ocean

The band release the album, which is available on pre-order, on August 28th

Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed
More Stories
twenty one pilots
Twenty One Pilots – Madison Square Garden